BF Goodrich ready for the CORR Championship

After serving as the tire of choice for off-road champions during the 2007 Championship Off-Road Racing (CORR) season, BFGoodrich Tires returns looking to continue its off-road supremacy in this extremely competitive closed-course series. BFGoodrich Tires teams won more races in 2007 than all other tire manufacturers combined, taking home class championships in the Pro-4, Pro-2 and Single Buggy classes.

“The demanding race conditions of the CORR series are ideal for us to demonstrate the capability of our off-road tires,” said Todd Steen, motorsports marketing manager for BFGoodrich Tires. “The brand has been an active partner in the CORR series since its inception and we look forward to raising the bar in 2008.”

Many of CORR’s most talented drivers will again receive support from BFGoodrich Tires and help continue its illustrious streak of class wins. A few key BFGoodrich Tires drivers to watch this year in the Pro-4 and Pro-2 classes include veteran off-road stalwarts Carl Renezeder and Johnny Greaves, who battled it out for the podium on several occasions during the 2007 CORR season. Greaves took home seven victories in Pro-4 competition while Renezeder captured nine and thusly the Pro-4 championship.

One of the most predominant teams in off-road competition, the Herbst brothers (Ed, Troy and Tim), are geared-up for greatness in 2008, plus Pro-2 champion, Jerry Whelchel, is driving for a new team and looking to defend his title while facing-off against Pro-2 runner-up Rob MacCachren, who took home five wins last season in Pro-2 and six Superbuggy victories. Another notable threat to the Pro-2 ranks includes 2007 World Series of Off-Road Racing (WSORR) Pro-2 champion, Scott Taylor, who will be contending in the CORR series this season. Additionally, former Supercross and Motocross champion, Ricky Johnson, is also returning to wave the BFGoodrich Tires flag alongside his teammate Steve Barlow. Popular off-road competitors Alan Pflueger, Evan Evans, Bryce Menzie and Bruce Fraley will round out the formidable roster for BFGoodrich Tires in the highly competitive classes.

The Pro Lite category will feature the off-road driving talent of multi-time champion, Jeff Kincaid and Rodrigo Ampudia Jr., who took home two victories in 2007 and will also field a Pro-2 entry. Finalizing the Pro Lite roster are Casey Currie and rock-crawling champion, Shannon Campbell, who is launching into his rookie season in CORR racing amongst the off-road elite while pulling double duty in rock-crawling competition. All of which are set for another intense racing season of high-flying, door-slamming action while driving for BFGoodrich Tires.
Taking the numerous course set-ups and off-road, closed-course challenges into consideration, CORR Pro-4 and Pro-2 competitors will race on the BFGoodrich Tires Mud-Terrain T/ATM KR tire, while the Pro Lite drivers will race with the BFGoodrich® Mud-Terrain T/ATM KM tire. Several competitors in the buggy classes will race on the BFGoodrich® Mud-Terrain T/ATM KM2 and All-Terrain T/A®KO tires. All BFGoodrich off-road tires have evolved from the legendary BFGoodrich® Baja T/A® tire which was the world’s first ultra-high performance off-road tire, designed specifically for off-road competition with TriGard® Plus construction, containing three full nylon carcass plies plus an additional nylon sidewall ply for incredible protection against punctures.

For those who may be unfamiliar, CORR off-road racing combines close, fender-to-fender racing on challenging closed-course off-road tracks across the western U.S. Now in its eleventh year, the 2008 CORR season kicks off April 24 – 28 in Los Angeles. Races will be televised on NBC and the SPEED Channel, check your local listings for dates and times.

The 2008 CORR Racing Schedule

April 26-27, Los Angeles
May 17-18, Primm, Nev.
June 7-8, Los Angeles
July 26-27, Chula Vista, Calif.
August 16-17, Los Angeles
September 13-14, Chula Vista, Calif.
October 25-26, Primm, Nev.
December 6-7, Chula Vista, Calif.



Subscribe in a reader